Seemingly Alone but Not Forsaken

My intentions for this blog have been to be as transparent as I possibly could be. Why? Well, I want my writings or the happenings of my life to not only reflect the goodness and grace of Jesus but to also encourage and inspire you, my reader, by my victories, trials, struggles, or blessings.

So I guess this post leads me to bearing my heart and soul with how I’ve been struggling. The past couple of weeks have been seemingly more than I could bear. This winter season has hit me hard. Still accommodating to a new area in which I live, missing my man as he works very long hours (recently 10 straight days in a row), suffering through a severe sickness for weeks and being confined to the couch, feeling alone with no family nearby,having my car break down, dealing with frozen water pipes, and bearing through the winter blues has taken its toll on my body, spirit, and soul. And these were just a few of the struggles that I had been faced with.

I became discouraged which led to a bout of feeling depressed. I felt myself sinking and having no strength to resist the urges of ungratefulness. I was losing sight of the blessings surrounding me and was beginning to lose all of my contentment I had found in Jesus. Down deep inside, I felt like I deserved better. Didn’t God desire my best? Why was He allowing me to suffer with a multitude of trials that were overwhelming me? After all, I’m a newlywed – shouldn’t I still be dancing among the roses?!

It was during this time, that I took a little trip back home to visit my family. God used this time to strengthen my heart. Not only did He use my mother’s “pep talks” to encourage me 🙂 but He used my family’s love and care along with my mother’s wisdom to get my eyes back on my Saviour. Sure I enjoyed a little R&R eating delicious meals, playing games, and shopping; but more importantly, I was encouraged to stop believing the lies of the enemy and to fully and whole-heartedly put my faith and trust in God. He is my El Shaddai. Can I completely trust Him to fulfill my every need? I was being selfish and looking upon my own circumstances and wanting my Lord and my husband to make my life easy and more accommodating but that’s not what God has planned for my life.

The Christian life isn’t easy. Taking up my cross and becoming a servant to all isn’t easy. Being a homemaker isn’t always easy especially suffering through a bout of illness. Remaining strong when you feel all alone isn’t easy. To put on a smile and hide back tears of disappointment isn’t easy. To hold your tongue when you want to prove a point isn’t easy. Choosing to be grateful instead of complaining isn’t easy either. But that’s what I’ve been called to. I’ve been called to “put on” the mind of my Saviour (Philippians 2:5). Because if and when I do, I shall be more like Him. I will be able to bring Him glory and praise. And that’s the true purpose for my life. Jesus humbled himself and became obedient. And that’s what I am called to do. To esteem others better than myself, to give thanks in all things, to care not for the things of this world, to take no thought of my future and trust God completely….these are the things that exemplify true Christianity.

So, my dear reader, if you are having a difficult day – take hope. I’m no expert when it comes to crawling out of the pit of discouragement but realize that you are not alone. Not only, are there others who are
struggling too (we don’t all have picture-perfect lives that Facebook or Instagram may seem to reflect) but you have a Friend who sticks closer than a brother. He understands your every emotion and He will provide for your every need. Make the choice to trust Him no matter what and find the joy you once had to being budding in your heart again!

5 thoughts on “Seemingly Alone but Not Forsaken

  1. Very well said, Sara! You are a gifted writer! The great challenge is living as Christ calls us to, being thankful and not complaining, even through the disappointments and confusion life can bring. I struggled after I got married, moved away from home, didn’t like my job, or the place I lived, and had a hard time making friends. I still struggle with the these things, but with patience, He has brought some people into my life that I know were meant to be. I guess the main thing to remember is that he is molding our characters, He will always provide for us, and we need to focus on our blessings.

    Like

  2. That was a beautiful post Sara and I am sure a hard one to write! But God gives grace to the humble~ So I know and trust that He will lift you up! Love you!

    Like

  3. Sara, I have been (and am!) right where you are! After I got married, I was more lonely than I had ever been – which seemed strange because I had this wonderful husband to share life with! But I focused very much on the ways that I wasn’t happy, instead of being grateful for the many blessings! Since my hubby is still in college, I’ve been the main source of income, and when we first got married I dove head first into a job that required me to drive 35 minutes one way on unfamiliar, curvy roads and working anywhere from 8 to 11 hour days. I felt like I never saw my new husband, and when we were together, I felt as though I had to share our time with his homework. I was 12 hours away from most of my family (although I did have many friends here), and I wasn’t happy where I was. I’m not saying all this to complain – but I too slipped into discouragement, resentment, and ungratefulness. Because of my selfishness, it affected my husband and my marriage – I didn’t just make myself miserable but I made my hubby miserable too! God has helped me tremendously!! Not only with my attitude, but after a year of dealing with the job I hated, I finally found a new job that is so much closer to home and had better hours. Do I love my new job? No. I still can’t wait for the day when I can stay at home and just focus on being a wife and a mother. Do I still miss my family? Yes. Am I still anxious for the day when our current situation changes? Yes. But I had to get to the point where even if my circumstances never change, that I will be okay with that. I certainly am not perfect and I still struggle with it – I have to DAILY surrender my current situation to God and make the decision to be happy. Some days I fail….at times I allow my situation to get the best of me. But God is faithful! God is so good and as I look back now, I’m in awe of how God was faithful and I truly think that first year of our marriage will be my favorite! 😀

    Like

  4. I enjoyed reading your blog. Life can be rough ! You ARE blessed though. You still have family. I have friends that are filling the place of family. Also you are having a positive influence around you and on me. Thanks. You are talented as a writer as someone else commented earler. I and a friend of mine are trying to write a Christian screenplay Please pray
    for us

    Like

  5. SARAH I AM CONFIDENT OF THIS VERY THING THAT JESUS WHO HAS BEGUN A GOOD WORK IN YOU, HE WILL PERFORM IT UNTIL THE DAY HE COMES IN THE CLOUDS FOR YOU. THESE ARE JONAH DAYS THAT WE ALL MUST GO THROUGH KNOWING THAT JESUS WORKS “ALL THINGS ” (EVEN THE BAD THINGS) TOGETHER FOR GOOD FOR SARAH WHO LOVES HIM! FOR I KNOW THE THOUGHTS THAT I THINK TOWARD YOU, SAITH THE LORD, THOUGHTS OF PEACE, AND “NOT” OF EVIL, TO GIVE YOU AN EXPECTED (YOU WILL BE EXPECTING!) END. BUT AS IT IS WRITTEN, EYE HATH NOT SEEN, NOR EAR HEARD, NEITHER HAVE ENTERED INTO THE HEART OF MAN, THE THINGS WHICH GOD HATH PREPARED FOR THEM THAT LOVE HIM. (THAT’S YOU SARA). I WILL BE PAYING DILIGENTLY FOR YOU. YOU ARE A BLESSING!

    Like

Leave a Reply

