Everything Good and Wonderful

Today my heart is at peace. Today I feel content. Today I feel happy. Today I know that God is good.

Sure, I know for a fact that He is good every day whether trudging through the valleys or skipping on the mountaintops but today I feel especially blessed. Why?! I don’t think I can really pin-point it to something specific. Perhaps trying to keep a thankful heart when things seems to be falling apart helps, or soothing my soul with the precious Word of God, or enjoying the sparks of romance and delight between my husband and I, or anticipating the arrival of our little one….it could be due to any one of these or even other things, I don’t know. For a fact, I do know that I’m thankful that my bouts of sickness seem to be lessening little by little. 🙂  I even have a bit more energy and enthusiasm to exercise which makes me feel good mentally and emotionally. Getting more involved in our new church family and growing meaningful relationships is encouraging to my heart. Even sitting here and enjoying the aroma of a Woodwick candle burning and seeing beautiful red roses sitting on my kitchen table make me feel special and blessed.

It’s so easy for me to complain over trite matters that are already under God’s control! Why can’t I always see that there is so much goodness that surrounds me on both the dark and sunny days of life?! I am unworthy of my Saviour’s love. I am unworthy of His care and His longing for my love and devotion. I know that in a brief moment I can be tempted to become discouraged or even upset about a situation and I can easily give in to that temptation. But right now, I sit here and I praise Jesus for being my Almighty God and my All-Sufficient One! He is worthy to be praised, is He not?!

Here are a few pictures of what’s been going on here in the frigid regions of Western PA 🙂

(If you want to keep more up-to-date with random pictures, be sure to follow me on Instagram!)

Trying to keep up-to-date with my pregnancy journaling. "Waiting in Wonder" was a great gift from my mom!

Trying to keep up-to-date with my pregnancy journaling. “Waiting in Wonder” was a great gift from my mom!

Keeping fit and healthy - at least trying to!

Keeping fit and healthy – at least trying to!

Me and my Valentine!

Me and my Valentine!

He knows how to make his wife especially happy! ;)

My V’day treats…….the man knows how to make his wife especially happy! 😉

IMG_7956

Mini Cherry Cakes made for Sunday School class

Yes, the man helped assemble to goodie bags!

Yes, the man helped assemble the goodie bags!

Time to go back inside!

Time to go back inside!

2 thoughts on “Everything Good and Wonderful

  1. What a great reminder, Sara. Even today, as I was studying for our Digging Deeper class- and one of the last things Pastor Dave mentioned was maintaining your attitude. Wow, how do you do that amidst trials and testings? One key I have found- along with your thankful heart and being in the Word of God- is “Where are my eyes focused”? Down or up? Matt 6:22 reminds us that the lamp of the body is the eye and if we keep it clear, our whole body will be full of light. When that happens- we are filled with hope! How do we keep it clear? Not only, like you said (being in the Word, prayer and having a thankful heart) but LOOK UP!!! Psalm 121:1 “I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.” Psalm 141:8 “Mine eyes are unto thee, O God the Lord; in Thee is my trust.” P.S. Your little, cherry cakes look so cute in the paper cups. I am so doing that next time with mine! Great idea!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

